Importance of sleep

“nidraayaattam sukham duhkham
pushtih kaarsya balaabalam
vrishataa kleebataa jnjaanam
ajnjaanam jeevitam na ca”

This roughly translates as happiness (and sorrow), corpulence (and trimness), strength (and weakness), potency (and impotency), intelligence (or its’ absence) and even itself depends on sleep


All India Institute of Ayurveda

Prime Minister Narendra Modi dedicated country’s first ever All India Institute of Ayurveda as part of celebration of the Ayurveda Divas October 17, 2017. Ayurveda Divas is celebrated on Dhanwantari Jayanti (Dhanteras). Dhanteras, also known as Dhanvantari Trayodashi, is the first day that marks the festival of Deepavali in India. The first Ayurveda Divas was celebrated last year.

This is envisaged to be an apex institute functioning along the lines of AIIMS. It is expected to combine the traditional wisdom of Ayurveda with modern diagnostic tools and technology.

Besides Out Patient, it has In Patient department with a provision for 200 beds. It has Neurological & Degenerative Disease Care Unit, Rheumatology & Musculoskeletal Care Unit, Diabetes & Metabolic/Allergic Disorders Care Unit, Yoga, Panchakarma Clinic, Kriya Kalpa, Diabetic Retinopathy Clinic, Kshara Evum Anushastra Karma and Infertility Clinic.

Importance of moderation

“mitam bhuktva satam japtva
gatva satapadai sanai
vamabhaage sayaanasya
bhishak bhi kim prayojanam”

It translates roughly to mean that a person who eats moderately, chant 100 times (spend some time for meditation to be at peace with oneself), walk slowly about 100 steps (does physical activities moderately and consistently), and sleeps on left side will not need a doctor’s services


yo na veti gunaagunam
na sa veti bhishak samyak

A doctor, who does not know good and bad effects of medicines, food, and routine activities, does not know what could be good and what could be bad for health

That is, a doctor to effectively treat a patient should not only be familiar with medicines but also with other aspects like food and regimen which have impact on health

Classical ayurvedic texts

Vedas are said to have information about information about medical plants. Specifically, Ayurveda is considered to be an upaveda (subsidiary text) of atharvaveda.

Important classical texts focusing on Ayurveda specifically are:
1. caraka samhita
2. susruta samhita
3. bhela samhita
4. kasyapa samhita
5. harita samhita
6. ashtaamgahridaya
7. ashtaamgasamgraha
8. rasa vaiseshika
9. ashtaamganighantu
10. paryaaya ratnamaala
11. dhanwatari nighantu
12. sodhala nighantu
13. madanapaala nighantu
13. kaiyadeva nighantu
14. bhaavaprakaasa
15. aayurveda saukhyam
16. aayurveda prakaasa
17. saarngadhara Samhita
18. bhaishajyaratnaavali
19. maadhavanidaanam

Branches of Ayurveda

ashtaavangaani tasyaahuh
chikitsa yeshu samsthitaah”

Following are branches of Ayurveda
1. kaaya chikitsa (internal medicine)
2. baala chikitsa (pediatrics)
3. graha chikitsa (treatment of mental disorders)
4. urdhvaanga chikitsa (treatment of head and neck portions. ENT etc)
5. salya chikitsa (surgery)
6. damshtra chikitsa (toxicology)
7. jara chikitsa (geriatrics including rejuvenation therapy)
8. vrsha chikitsa (science of aphrodisiacs)

National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Award

Ministry of Ayush, Government of India, has instituted ‘National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Award’ to eminent Vaidyas and Ayurveda experts to promote best practices of Ayurveda.

This award will be conferred on Ayurveda Day. Ayurveda Day every year is celebrated on Dhanwantri Jayanti (Dhanteras). Dhanwantri Jayanti falls on 17th October 2017 this year

National Dhanwantri Award consists of Citation, Trophy and Cash Award of Rupees Five Lakhs

Applications/nominations in the prescribed format along with necessary support documents should reach the Ministry on the email address by 05.30 pm 18th September 2017

More details available here

20 Gunas (attributes)

gunaah sasookshmavisadaa
vimsatih saviparyayah”

There are 20 gunas associated with Dravyas. That is, each dravya could have one or more these gunas. They are:

1, guru (heavy) Vs laghu (light)
2. manda (dull) Vs teekshna (sharp)
3. hima (cold) Vs ushna (hot)
4, snigdha (unctuous) Vs rooksha (Ununctuous)
5. slakshna (smooth) Vs khara (rough)
6. saandra (dense) Vs drava (liquid)
7. mridu (soft) Vs kathina (hard)
8. sthira (Stable) Vs chala (fluid)
9. sookshma (Subtle) Vs sthoola (Gross)
10. visada (non-slimy) Vs pichchhila (slimy)